10

EHPS Grants



Precondition and expectations for receiving grants from the EHPS

Candidates must be **EHPS members** when accepting the grant. Grant recipients in the past three years are not eligible for application (for a list of grant winners see:

<u>http://www.ehps.net/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=100&Itemid=211</u>). If a grant recipient does not attend the conference/pre-conference workshop, he/she must reimburse the money to the EHPS. Grants can not exceed the maximum amount of costs indicated above. Candidates should give an estimate of their expenses upon application. Final reimbursement is based on the actual expenses per original receipts. It will be expected that after the conference/workshop recipients submit a letter describing how the fund has supported their work.

Grants Selection Process

The selection of EHPS grant recipients will be conducted by a committee consisting of a CREATE member, a Synergy member and the EHPS Education and Training officer.

The selection criteria will be:

(a) Relevance of the applicant's work to the topic of the workshop (for Synergy and CREATE grants), or relevance of the submitted abstract to the conference (for the EHPS conference grant).

- (b) Demonstration of financial need
- (c) Potential of the fund to promote the career of the recipient
- (d) Complete application package (see checklist above)
- You will be informed of the results by May 10th, 2010.

Please send all application materials electronically (include scanned copies of the official letters and student ID cards) to Holger Schmid, Education and Training Officer: <u>holger.schmid@fhnw.ch</u>



Dear EHPS Members,

The term of the current EHPS Executive Committee will expire in September 2010, and in accordance with the Articles and Bylaws of the Society, nominations for election to positions on the Executive Committee are invited at this time.

This is an opportunity for you to take a more active part in the Society because you have the possibility of nominating candidates for the EC, members that in your opinion can make a valuable contribution to the future of the Society and can represent your point of view.

March 2010



As an European democratic association, the European Health Psychology Society welcomes nominations from all members of the Society as well as declarations of intention to stand for election of any of its members (of 2 years or more), including putting themselves forward for nomination. The EHPS election scrutineers will also aim at an adequate representation of the various regions of Europe (according to the guidelines provided in the EHPS bylaws).

In accordance with the Articles and Bylaws of the Society, any member of the Society who has been a member for at least 2 years by the time of nomination is eligible for election unless they have expired the possible time as a member of the Executive Committee. **A list with members fulfilling this criterion is attached to this mail.** The Executive Committee consists of eight elected members: a President, a Past-President, a President-Elect, a Secretary, a Treasurer/Membership Officer, and 3 members who oversee activities such as National Delegates, Education and Training, and Communications. The President-Elect comes in for a two-year term before his/her term as President and remains for an additional term as Past-President (altogether six years). The Secretary and the Treasurer/Membership Officer can serve for a maximum period of six years. Other members of the Executive Committee can only serve for a maximum of two consecutive terms of office.

To get an idea of what EC members do, you are invited to browse through our messages in the August 2007 and the September 2009 issues of the European Health Psychologist: http://www.ehps.net/ehp/issues/2007/v9iss3_August2007/EHP_Aug07_Presidents_Message.pdf http://www.ehps.net/ehp/issues/2007/v9iss3_August2007/EHP_Aug07_EC_Messages.pdf

http://www.ehps.net/ehp/issues/2009/v11iss3_Sept2009/EHP_Sept09_PresidentsMessage.pdf http://www.ehps.net/ehp/issues/2009/v11iss3_Sept2009/EHP_Sept09_ECreports.pdf

You are invited to nominate EHPS members for the following positions: President-Elect, Secretary, Treasurer/Membership Officer and 3 members.

Paul Norman remains on the Executive Committee as incoming President.

Irina Todorova remains on the Executive Committee as Past-President.

Holger Schmid (Education and Training Officer) is willing to continue serving the society as member of the Executive Committee and is eligible to be re-elected.

Manja Vollmann is not seeking re-election as Treasurer/Membership Officer but is willing to take on another role in the Executive Committee.

Yael Benyamini (Secretary) and Elvira Cicognani (National Delegate Officer) are not seeking re-election.

Britta Renner (Past-President) and Vera Araujo-Soares (Communication Officer) have completed their maximum term of office.

The Secretary must receive via **e-mail, fax or post,** confirmation of nomination from 2 nominating EHPS members and an acceptance of nomination by the person being nominated. Along with their acceptance of nomination, nominees are encouraged to submit a brief statement (no more than 500 words) of their expertise, involvement in the EHPS and similar organizations, and their view of their contribution to the development of the EHPS and of health psychology in Europe.

Mailed or faxed nominations (see attached form) must be signed by the nominee him/herself and must be nominated *and* seconded by EHPS members. Nominations must be sent by e-mail, fax or mail to the secretary to arrive not later than May 14th, 2010.

Sincerely, Yael Benyamini, EHPS Secretary.