Help individuals, families, and societies to better cope with life challenges related to illness and health, by promoting rigorous science, precise interventions, and close collaborations.

Innovative Initiatives Grants

The EHPS Innovative Initiatives Grant is intended to support collaboration across EHPS countries and members in their research endeavours, for example through collaborative scoping work, protocol development, grant idea generation/drafting, knowledge exchange or research training. The aim is to create research synergies between EHPS members and achieve innovative outcomes that advance the field of health psychology. It is expected that the application is submitted by at least one EHPS member who is the grant coordinator.
It is expected that the applicant(s) will work towards a specified deliverable and timeline, and will produce a brief report on their activity for the upcoming annual EHPS conference. One Innovative Initiatives Grant is available for a maximum of 5000 Euros.
Application Deadline: Friday 26th January 2024

Please send your application documents to

Grant Selection Process

Applications will be reviewed by a Selection Committee comprised of: EC Grants Officer; a SYNERGY and a CREATE member. It is expected that applicants will be informed of the outcome 1 month following the deadline.
Selection criteria include:
Coherence with the aims of the Innovative Initiatives Grants
Relevance and impact of the work to the EHPS and the applicant(s)
Scientific quality of the proposal including the extend that the idea is excellent and innovative and the implementation plan is concrete and
Appropriateness of the requested resources and their relevance to the proposed work
Application documents:
A one-page supporting letter, to include: the reasons for applying for the grant, your planned contribution to EHPS networking and why this would be particularly beneficial to your career/research at this time, and any background information relevant to your funding situation.
A project (max 3 sides A4) including the relevance and aims of the project, the methodology, the expected results, a description of the collaborating parties and of their role in the project, and an estimate and rationale of total expected expenses.
Short Curriculum Vitae of each proponent (max 2 pages).

An official statement from your employer or supervisor that no funding is being provided from the University or Institution and confirming the financial need.

Precondition and expectations for receiving grants from the EHPS:

Candidates must be EHPS members when accepting the grant.

Grant recipients in the past three years are not eligible for application.

Grants cannot exceed the maximum amount of costs indicated above.

Candidates should give an estimate and rationale of their expenses upon application. Final reimbursement is based on the actual expenses per original receipts.
A condition of funding is that successful awardees will be required to write a project report for publication in EHP in addition to any other publication or output.

Grant Winners 2022

Commercial Smartphone Apps for Asthma Self-management: A Content Analysis and User Testing Study
Pamela Rackow
Angela Rodrigues
Anne van Dongen
Filipa Teixeira

Grant Winners 2021

1). Synthesizing evidence on a digital divide in mobile interventions targeting weightrelated behaviours: A systematic review of observational studies
Laura König
Eline Smit
Heide Busse
Ann deSmet
Cindy Forbes
Dorothy SzinayTowards
2). Best practice guidelines on conducting App Store Trials: co-producing a protocol for a Delphi study.
Claire McCallum
Sebastian Potthoff
Leah Bührmann

Grant Winners 2016

Gertraud Stadler, Scotland

Grant Winners 2015

Emma Massey, The Netherlands

Grant Winners 2011

Catrinel Craciun, Romania

Raluca Lucacel, Romania

Susanne Wurm, Germany

Julia K. Wolff, Germany

Lisa M. Warner, Germany

Annabelle Couillandre, France

Cécile Bazillier, France

Andrea Greco, Italy

Dario Monzani, Italy

Grant Winners 2010

Benjamin Schüz, Germany

Richard Cooke, UK

Guido van Koningsbruggen, The Netherlands

Peter Harris, UK

Urte Scholz, Switzerland